Accrochage

Accrochage

Group show, artists of the gallery. Joël Brisse, Denis Brun, Fabien Charuau, Thierry Diers, Bernard Gaube, Florent Girard, Bernard Guillot, Noëlle Koning, Franck Longelin, Eric de Tarragon, Erlend Van Landeghem.
04 December - 17 January 2015


Joël Brisse (1953) - Painter and cinéma director, lives and works in Paris.

« What Joël is looking for is not the subject. There is here a whole unity that is looking at us, that comes with us and bears witness in productions, a unique refined scenery almost in the midst of emptiness, behind a tree,related to strange objects or still lives, remembrances of places and meetings. Painting which is fraught with the questions asked to the world that the painter puts on his canvas ».
 

Denis Brun (1966) - Plastic artist, lives and works in Marseille.

" I like relating stories with diverse and varied elements which find their origin in my daily life. I try to divert them from their first utility to create a story where we can find ourself face to face with us and project our own imagination ".

 

Fabien Charuau - Plastic artist, photographer and videaste, lives and works in Bombay (India).

Fabien Charuau is a Bombay-based visual artist working thus far with photography and vidéo A confluence of two worlds, the one he was born in and the one he lives in, defines his visual identity.

« At every kilometer mark, I would shoot three images on three film cameras – one of the road, another of a person I met there and the third of something from the surroundings ».

Thierry Diers (1954) - Plastic artist and painter, lives and works in Paris.

Thierry Diers is a painter whose work arises from necessity and blends into him. In it, he tells us about space and time, about his search for the right image. An attempt at translating themes and experiences which can only come to life thanks to accepted chaos and disposal. He fears repetitions and virtuosity, slowly creating a work he is building every day, looking for fragile discoveries which will become indispensable in the long run, far from impressions, in flickering light.

 

Bernard Gaube (1952) - Painter, lives and works in Bruxelles (Belgium)

“His work is structured around numerous self-portraits, nude figures painted from living models, huge compositions where the carrying out of composition, repentance, grid, deliberately appear… A sometimes evanescent touch, hardly covered with pictorial material, as if crayoned with pastel, in tight, oblique or horizontal strokes : a search on the surface of the canvas, outlined shapes”. 

 

Florent Girard (1989) - Painter, lives and works in Normandie.

With Florent Girard, we are in discovery, into an evolving plan. There is a greedy curiosity, sparks with organised paths restoring captured moments, pieces of realities, topographies and volumes of urban outskirt areas. Memories he needs to question, discover and reconstruct.

To note down and set down on notebooks, to mix disrupted developing areas with computer graphics, to achieve a draft and give it a breath by means of the coming back to the studio, in the action of painting and in the matter. An interesting process where hand and painting come to an end and give birth to the frozen image of modernity.

 

Bernard Guillot (1950) - Painter and photograph, lives and works in Paris et in Cairo (Egypt).

There is matter, the paper and the colour ; we float and skim over the picture. The subject questions us, the shades stroke the mind, everything is curiosity and wraps us up. We are eager to know, to know everything and yet prevent the silence from tearing the dream. Bernard offers us a space, links us to secret roots that we can at last catch sight of. They appear, well-known instants and moments ; are they our distant relatives or our doubles ? Just like a parallel wave, a story goes on.

 

Noëlle Koning (1960) - Painter, lives and works in Bruxelles (Belgium)

First there is the effervescence of colours and signs but you must not stop at this stage because of the risk of remaining at the surface of the work. You have to enter her universe and agree to travel.

Noëlle Koning works in a closed space in the middle of a workshop which is flooded with light and remembrances. She kneels down there in the midst of papers turned to pieces which have been painted in the long time, which she explores, questions and organizes on her canvas. She finds, removes, searches for moments of life which she catches unawares and maybe understands. She merges into her material in her search for a composition which unveils itself wholly in lightness and a delicate balance. Torn up papers, breaking off the pleasure of painting surfaces devoid of texture, coloured spots and rhythms. A ritual in itself, Noëlle enters time and remembrances, fight and pleasure.

Franck Longelin (1956) - Painter, lives and works in Boulogne-sur-Mer.

"If the works of Franck Longelin are powerful, it is because they know how to absorb with violence, sweetness, the fundamental features of the human psyche, while raising them until the universal. They are the reflection of what we are, of what we were or of the fact that we could be "

Eric de Tarragon (1963) - Painter, lives and works in Paris.
They are paintings split in two. Upright. In the horizontal. Shared, divided, cut. Always in the center. Right in the middle. Quite consisted so: in two different, equivalent images, and which seem to have been brought back the one to the other one accidentally as much as out of necessity. Of this ratio came into a  tense painting, violent and ambiguous, which repeats, until tiredness, the matrix scene of the creation of the world "

Erlend van Landeghem (1965) - Plastic artist, lives and works in Ghent (Belgium)

With Erlend Van Landeghem, we have the modernity of a tradition which clings to his history and offers us a set of volumes of an infinite richness. Carnival, masks or blind men guiding one another, we rediscover Bosch’s, Hals’s, Brueghel’s or Ensor’s Flanders.

Erlend splits up and experiments : paper, glass, polyester and silicone. He makes discoveries and takes us in his vessel for a voyage. Let us join in the dance where volumes, colours, light and tearings cut across one another. An intelligence which questions and fulfils. A happiness which nurtures on the pleasure of touching and dreaming. Come and join in this voyage, creation is part of it !

Accrochage

Accrochage

Accrochage des artistes de la galerie. Joël Brisse, Denis Brun, Fabien Charuau, Thierry Diers, Bernard Gaube, Florent Girard, Bernard Guillot, Noëlle Koning, Franck Longelin, Eric de Tarragon, Erlend Van Landeghem.
04 décembre - 17 janvier 2015


Joël Brisse (1953) - Peintre et réalisateur, vit et travaille à Paris.
« Ce que cherche Joël  Brisse n’est pas le sujet. Il y a ici un ensemble qui nous regarde, nous accompagne et témoigne dans des mises en scène, décor unique épuré presque dans le vide, derrière un arbre, en relation avec d’étranges objets ou natures mortes, souvenirs de lieux et de rencontres. Peinture qui porte les interrogations au monde que le peintre pose sur la toile ».

Denis Brun (1966) - Plasticien, vit et travaille à Marseille.
"J'aime raconter des histoires avec des éléments divers et variés qui trouvent leur origine dans ma vie de tous les jours. Je m'efforce de les détourner de leur utilité première pour créer une narration où l'on peut se retrouver et projeter sa propre imagination".


Fabien Charuau - Plasticien, photographe et vidéaste, vit et travaille à Bombay (Inde).

Son identité visuelle est définie par le mélange de deux cultures, l’une où il est né et l’autre où il vit. Pour cette exposition nous présentons une série de photographies prises le long d’une route qu’il a parcourue, s’arrêtant à chaque km pour intercepter les images de la route, d’une personne rencontrée en cet instant et d’un élément qui l’intéressait.

 

Thierry Diers (1954) - Plasticien et peintre, vit et travaille à Paris.

Des espaces abstraits des premières toiles à la non-figuration actuelle, Thierry Diers invente une écriture reconnaissable, spécifique, un langage. Dans sa singularité, l’univers du peintre devient alors le monde de celui qui regarde. Ce regard qui raconte le monde.

Bernard Gaube (1952) - Peintre, vit et travaille à Bruxelles (Belgique)

« Son œuvre s'articule aujourd'hui autour de très nombreux autoportraits, figures de nus peintes d'après des modèles vivants, grandes compositions où apparaissent volontairement le travail de composition, le repentir, le carroyage... Une touche parfois évanescente à peine couverte de matière picturale quasi pastellisée, en bâtonnets serrés, obliques ou horizontaux: une recherche sur la surface de la toile, des formes cernées ».

 

Florent Girard (1989) - Peintre, vit et travaille en Normandie.

« Chez Florent Girard on est dans la découverte, le projet en devenir. Il y a une curiosité gourmande, des étincelles aux cheminements organisés qui restituent les moments captés, des fragments de réalités, topographies et volumes d’espaces périurbains. Souvenirs qu’il lui faut interroger, découvrir et recomposer. Noter et fixer sur des carnets, mixer par l’infographie des aménagements de territoires sans dessus, sans dessous, parvenir à une image/projet et lui redonner une respiration par le retour à l’atelier, dans l’acte de peindre et la matière. Démarche intéressante où main et peinture finalisent et donnent vie à l’image glacée de la modernité ».

Bernard Guillot (1950) - Peintre et photographe, vit et travaille à Paris et au Caire (Egypte).

« Pour en parler, comme pour écouter une musique, il faut lâcher prise. 

Il y a la matière, le papier et la couleur, on flotte et effleure l’image.  Le sujet interroge, les tons caressent l’esprit, tout est curiosité et nous enveloppe.  On désire connaître, tout savoir et pourtant laisser le silence ne pas déchirer le rêve.  Bernard nous offre un espace-temps, nous relie à des racines secrètes que l’on peut enfin apercevoir. Elles apparaissent, des instants et des moments connus, ce sont nos parents lointains ou nos doubles ?  Comme une onde parallèle, une histoire se prolonge ».

 

Noëlle Koning (1960) - Peintre, vit et travaille à Bruxelles (Belgique)

« Il y a d’abord l’effervescence des couleurs et des signes, mais il ne faut pas s’arrêter à ce stade au risque de rester à la surface de l’oeuvre. Il faut entrer dans son univers et accepter de voyager. Noëlle Koning travaille dans un espace clos au centre d’un atelier baigné de lumière et de souvenirs. Elle s’y agenouille au milieu d’accumulations de papiers déchirés peints dans le temps, qu’elle explore, interroge et organise sur sa toile. Elle trouve, retire, cherche des moments de vie qu’elle surprend et comprend peut-être. Elle se fond dans sa matière, à la recherche d’une composition qui se dévoile tout en légèreté, et équilibre fragile.

Papiers déchirés, en rupture avec le plaisir de peindre des surfaces sans texture, des taches et rythmes colorées. Tout un rite, Noëlle entre dans le temps et les souvenirs, une lutte et un plaisir ».

 

Franck Longelin (1956) - Peintre, vit et travaille à Boulogne-sur-Mer.

« Si les œuvres de Franck Longelin sont puissantes, c’est qu’elles savent absorber avec violence, douceur, les traits fondamentaux de la psyché humaine, tout en les élevant jusqu’à l’universel. Elles sont le reflet de ce que nous sommes, de ce que nous avons été ou de ce que nous pourrions être ».

Eric de Tarragon (1963)
- Peintre, vit et travaille à Paris

"Ce sont des toiles fendues en deux. A la verticale. A l'horizontale. Partagées, divisées, coupées. Toujours en plein milieu. Au beau milieu. Toutes composées ainsi : en deux images distinctes, équivalentes, et qui semblent avoir été rapportées l'une à l'autre par accident autant que par nécessité. De ce rapport-là jaillit une peinture sous tension, violente et ambiguë, qui répète, jusqu'à exténuation, la scène matricielle de la création du monde"


Erlend van Landeghem (1965) - Plasticien, vit et travaille à Gand (Belgique)

« Chez Erlend Van Landeghem, c’est la modernité d’une tradition qui s’accroche à son histoire et nous offre un monde de volumes aux infinies richesses. Carnaval, masques ou aveugles se guidant, on retrouve la Flandre de Bosch, Hals, Brueghel ou Ensor.

Erlend fragmente et expérimente : papier, verre, polyester, silicone. Il découvre et nous emmène sur sa nef pour un voyage. Laissons nous embarquer dans cette danse où se croisent volumes, couleurs, lumière et déchirements. Intelligence qui interroge et comble. Bonheur qui se nourrit du plaisir de toucher et rêver. Venez dans ce voyage, la création est par là ! »